Main current exhibition:
History of Sleaford Workhouse
Sleaford Poor Law Union was formed in 1834. Although there had been at least one workhouse in Sleaford before that date, a new purpose-built Workhouse was constructed on Eastgate between 1837-38. This exhibition will chart the development and history of this important local building which sadly no longer exists.
The full exhibition will be in place until early April 2019, when the window part will be replaced. The rest of the exhibition (the majority of it) will remain for several months after that.
From March 7th onwards
Photography through the ages
A small exhibition of photographic equipment and slides/photographs through the recent past will begin in March.
From April 2019 onwards
The Museum has been lucky enough to have had donated a large collection of exquisitely dressed and decorated peg dolls created by a local lady. They will make a beautiful display in the Museum and its large window from early April 2019. Just a few pictures to whet your appetite…..
Silk Willoughby Aircrash, 4th June 1944
On the 4th of June, 1944, an American B24 Liberator (Sweet Chariot 261) demolished 2 farm buildings at Willoughby Walks. The occupants of the farm were unhurt and there was no-one on board the aircraft……
This fascinating story will be presented in a small exhibition beginning in June 2019, 75 years after the event. It will also coincide with a talk about the aircrash presented by Mark Bamford on Tuesday 23rd July 2019. Click here for more details: Events and Talks